₹5 Lakh Insurance Claim: Allahabad High Court Backs Unmarried Sister

More articles

The ₹5 Lakh Insurance Claim filed by an unmarried woman after her brother’s accidental death has been upheld by the Allahabad High Court. The court ruled that she was entitled to receive the death benefit as her brother’s legal heir, even though sisters were not expressly included among the insurance scheme’s covered family members.

On October 26, 2026, a division bench comprising Justices Prakash Padia and Garima Prashad overturned Oriental Insurance Company Limited’s rejection under the Mukhyamantri Kisan Evam Sarvahit Bima Yojana. The insurer was directed to pay ₹5 lakh within four weeks of receiving a certified copy of the judgment.

Key Highlights

  • Claimant: Vidyawati, unmarried sister of the deceased.
  • Insurer: Oriental Insurance Company Limited.
  • Scheme: Mukhyamantri Kisan Evam Sarvahit Bima Yojana.
  • Dispute: Whether a sister could receive the death benefit as a legal heir.
  • Outcome: Claim rejection quashed and payment ordered.

₹5 Lakh Insurance Claim: Case Details

Case Details Information
Case Km. Vidyawati vs. State of U.P. and 4 Others
Court Allahabad High Court
Claim amount ₹5,00,000
Accident May 18, 2019
Policy period September 14, 2018 – September 13, 2019
First rejection October 3, 2019
District Committee decision November 18, 2019
Subsequent rejection April 16, 2021
Judgment October 26, 2026
Case number Writ-C No. 28051 of 2023
What Happened in the Insurance Claim Case?

Abhay Charan Darshan Dubey died in a road accident in Basti on May 18, 2019. His parents had died earlier, and he supported his unmarried sister, Vidyawati.

Vidyawati requested the ₹5 lakh accidental death benefit available under the government-backed insurance scheme. Oriental Insurance rejected her application on October 3, 2019, because the definition of covered family members did not expressly mention sisters.

The accident fell within the policy period. The dispute concerned beneficiary eligibility rather than timing.

Why Did Oriental Insurance Reject the Claim?

The insurer relied on the scheme’s definition of eligible family members, listing the head or breadwinner, spouse, unmarried daughter, dependent son, and certain dependent parents. It argued that including sisters would extend coverage beyond the contract.

However, a separate provision permitted accidental death benefits to be paid to a nominee or legal heir of the deceased insured person. That distinction proved decisive.

Why Was the District Committee’s Decision Important?

On November 18, 2019, the Basti District Committee reviewed a report from the Sub-Divisional Magistrate, Harraiya, identified the deceased as family breadwinner and directed payment.

Oriental Insurance nevertheless maintained its rejection on April 16, 2021. Vidyawati subsequently approached the High Court. The court held that the committee could not expand coverage, but its finding matched the policy’s legal-heir provision.

What Did the Allahabad High Court Rule?

The court distinguished covered family members, whose own accidents may be insured, from nominees or legal heirs, who may receive benefits after an insured person’s death.

Vidyawati was not claiming coverage for an accident involving herself. She sought compensation arising from her brother’s death. The judges held that excluding her solely because she was his sister incorrectly applied the family-coverage definition to a separate death-benefit clause.

The court read the agreement as a whole, referring also to an earlier insurance-contract decision involving Oriental Insurance and Smt. Uma Devi.

Was a Succession Certificate Necessary?

₹5 Lakh Insurance Claim illustration showing an insurance adviser reviewing claim documents with clients, highlighting legal-heir rights and succession certificate requirements.
₹5 Lakh Insurance Claim Understanding succession certificate requirements and legal heir eligibility following the Allahabad High Courts insurance ruling

The scheme contemplated additional legal-heir documentation where succession was disputed. No competing claimant was identified in Vidyawati’s case.

The ruling does not eliminate succession documents where policies require them or competing claims exist.

Court Orders ₹5 Lakh Payment

The High Court quashed the April 16, 2021 rejection and ordered Oriental Insurance to release ₹5 lakh within four weeks of receiving a certified judgment copy. The District Magistrate was directed to facilitate payment. No costs were awarded.

The judgment confirms entitlement but does not establish that the insurer has already paid the amount.

What Does This Mean for Policyholders?

The ₹5 Lakh Insurance Claim decision highlights the importance of checking both eligibility and payment clauses.

Families should preserve insurance documents, death certificates, accident reports, rejection letters, and proof of legal-heir status where required. They can also review the scheme’s grievance procedures and available legal remedies.

The ruling does not automatically make every sibling eligible under every insurance policy. Outcomes depend on contractual wording, succession rules, and evidence.

Conclusion

The ₹5 Lakh Insurance Claim ruling by the Allahabad High Court provides relief to Vidyawati after Oriental Insurance rejected her accidental death benefit claim. The court clarified that a legal heir may receive insurance compensation even when not expressly included among the scheme’s covered family members.

The judgment highlights the importance of reviewing insurance agreements, beneficiary rights, and policy conditions before rejecting claims. However, eligibility in other cases depends on the applicable policy terms and succession circumstances.

author avatar
Rachel atarah
Rachel Atarah is a finance and insurance writer and the voice behind FinsuranceBiz, a platform focused on delivering clear, research-based insights on insurance policies, financial planning, and business risk management. She specializes in simplifying complex financial topics, including insurance claims, coverage options, legal considerations, and cost-related decisions. Her content is designed to help individuals, professionals, and small business owners make informed and practical financial choices. Rachel’s work is guided by a strong focus on accuracy, clarity, and user trust. She follows a research-driven approach, using publicly available financial data, industry reports, and policy frameworks to ensure content remains reliable and relevant. Through FinsuranceBiz, Rachel aims to provide accessible financial education that helps readers understand real-world insurance and financial decisions with confidence.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest